Saturday, May 7, 2016

2016 Hall of fame

Dave Dunham 978-684-9211
Paul Kirsch 603-398-1852

Northeast Delta Dental

Mount Washington Road Race

Mt. Washington Auto Road

June 18, 2016 – 9 a.m.


7th Annual Mount Washington Road Race Hall of Fame Inauguration

Saturday, June 18 -- 1 p.m.


·        Race’s Hall of Fame honors Francis Darrah, George Etzweiler, and Cathy Hodgdon

May 6, 2016 -- Pinkham Notch, NH

Formed in 2010 to recognize outstanding performers in and contributors to this footrace to the summit of the highest peak in the northeastern United States, the Mt. Washington Road Race Hall of Fame this year will pay tribute to the achievements of three great runners in a ceremony at the base of the Mt. Washington Auto Road on Saturday, June 18.  The ceremony will take place after the 2016 Northeast Delta Dental Mount Washington Road Race, which starts at 9 a.m.  The race attracts 1300 runners who will make their way up the 155-year-old Auto Road.

The 2016 Mount Washington Hall of Fame inductees:

Francis Darrah – won the race in two of the first three years it was held (1936 & 1938).  He broke his own course record in 1938 running a 1:15:28. He is one of only nine people who have ever held the course record at Mt Washington.  He is also one of the three men in the history of the race to set the course record multiple times, the others being Hall of Fame members Bob Hodge and Gary Crossan.

George Etzweiler - is the oldest finisher (at age 95 in 2015), and has finished eight times between the age of 85 and 95.  All of his times rank between 7th and 34th for runners 80 years old or older.  He is the only runner over age 88 to finish the race.  He currently owns eight single-age records (85,86,87,89,91,92,93,95).  He also holds the 85-89 Age Group Record (AGR) (2:33:20), 90-94 AGR (2:48:25) and 95+ (3:28:41) AGR.

Cathy Hodgdon – had three consecutive wins from 1980-1982.  Her three times averaged 1:24:07.  Cathy holds the single age record for age 22 with her 1:22:57 in 1981.  That record is the second oldest women’s record in existence. In 1980 she set the 20-24 AGR (1:26:24) which she lowered in 1981 (1:22:57) and lowered again in 1982 (1:22:10).

The Mt. Washington Road Race Hall of Fame recognizes athletic performance at the MWRR or efforts to assist the Race or promote it.  Consideration is given to athletes, advocates, race staff members or volunteers.   Inductees are chosen by a vote of the Hall of Fame committee from a longer list of nominees compiled by December 31 of the preceding year. 

The Saturday afternoon Hall of Fame induction will precede the race’s award ceremony.  The induction ceremony will start at 1 p.m. in the large tent at the base of the Auto Road, on Route 16 just north of Pinkham Notch.

The public is invited.
Regularly updated information about the Mt. Washington Road Race Hall of Fame is available any time on the website at:

Other HOF sites include:  Facebook (, Twitter  ( and the Records/Hall of Fame blog ( ).  For other information about the race, visit


Saturday, December 26, 2015

Nominees for the 2016 Mt Washington Road Race Hall of Fame

Only few days left to send in nominations for the 2016 HOF.  Send nominations to:

Here are the nominations so far:
Sumner Brown – has a long history at Mt Washington, he has been highly successful over 25 years in various age groups and has a life time PR of 1:10:53.  In 1989 he set the then 45-49 AGR of 1:13:00 and in 1990 he lowered his record to 1:11:41.  He set an age group record in 1994 when he placed 18th overall in 1:12:27 which topped the 50+ age group. That record stood for 15 years.  He set the 55-59 AGR in 1999 running a 1:17:59.  In 2004 broke into the 60+ age group with the then 2nd fastest time.  In 2009 he set the 65-69 AGR (1:34:36).  He currently holds the single age records for age 63, and 65 and the AGR for 65-69.  He finished the race 25 times from 1984-2010 which ranks tied for 32nd all time.  He has run under 1:20 sixteen times which ranks tied for 10th and under 1:15 eleven times which ranks tied for 11th. He ranks 28th all-time in prize money winnings.  He holds four of the top 31 times in the 45-49 aged group, four of the top 27 times in the 50-54, two of the top 10 times in the 55-59, and four of the top 20 times in the 60-64 age group.


Philip S. Campbell - considered his record in the Mount Washington Road Race the pinnacle achievement of his running career in his eighties.  In 1998, he set the still standing Mount Washington course record for Men 80-84 with a time of 2:19:48 beating the previous record by almost 17 minutes. This record remains one of the longest-standing, unbeaten marks in any age category. Five years later at the age of 85 he set a new course record for Men 85-89 with a time of 3:03:18. From 1998 to 2003 he ran the Mount Washington Road race four times finishing first in his age category each of those years while setting three course records.  He was an early and passionate advocate for age categories for senior runners in road races and played an integral role in the growth and success of the New England 65 Plus Runners Club serving as club president from 1994 through 1997.


John Cederholmwon the race in 1973 in his first attempt, and went on to finish five times in the top ten from 1973 to 1978.  His five top 10 overall finishes ranks 15th all-time. He has

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Most top 5 finishes - Men

Rank No. Name First Last
1 15 Dave Dunham 1988 2003
2 12 Simon Gutierrez 1998 2013
3 11 Keith  Woodward 1973 1989
4t 10 Bob Hodge 1976 1992
4t 10 Eric Morse 1993 2006
6 9 Eric Blake 2004 2014
7t 6 Joe Gray 2009 2015
7t 6 Gary Crossan 1980 1986
7t 6 Craig Fram 1995 2003
10t 5 Matt Carpenter 1992 2005
10t 5 Paul Low 2002 2007
10t 5 Rickey Gates 2006 2011

Most top 10 finishes - men

Rank No. Top 10 Finishes Name Club Last top 10 finish
1t 15 Dave Dunham CMS 2003
1t 15 Simon Gutierrez Team CO 2015
1t 15 Keith Woodward NCAC 1991
4t 14 Eric Morse CMS 2007
4t 14 Mike Casner CMS 2001

Most top ten finishes - Women

No. Top 10 Finishes
Last top 10 finish
Fleet Feet
La Sportiva

Team records progression

Cat Year Club Time Yrs since Broken by
M Open 2012 Team Colorado  5:12:28 7 0:05:31
2005 CMS 5:17:59 6 0:02:45
1999 CMS 5:20:44 3 0:03:31
1996 CMS 5:24:15 1 0:01:42

All time - women 50+ teams

Rank Time Year Team
1 4:39:12 2013 CSU CR
2 4:44:17 2015 CSU
3 4:49:21 2011 CSU CR
4 4:52:35 2012 CSU